Flask Half-Empty

ramblings about warcraft, other games, & randomness

To Worgen or Not to Worgen?

Artwork by Makani (Heather Campbell)

As of late, I’ve been very seriously considering race-changing Ninevi to Worgen in preparation for Mists. With account-wide achievements coming into the scene, I won’t have the worries of “who is my main” anymore, and my druid will likely one of the (if not the) first of my characters that I’d like to take through all the new content fresh! I think she deserves the attention too, being my oldest character but with least played time. :)

I’ve very much wanted to go back to trying out feral, as Ninevi hasn’t played as kitty since her leveling days. During the short time that I tried it on my Horde druid during Wrath, I just couldn’t get the feral DPS rotation down, and it made me feel like a nutcase every time I tried it out. I did, however, really enjoy bear tanking a lot. Combined with what I’d read regarding the class/spec this expansion, I hadn’t been much bothered to try it again. So throughout Cata, I just went along and added my druid to my niche of healers. But a new expansion is on the near horizon, and it’ll be a new learning curve. What better time to give cat druid-ing another try, right?

Along that, Ninevi just hasn’t been feeling too in touch with her Night Elf roots recently, either. It kind of makes sense, though. After four years, I guess it’s only natural that a shifty druid would want some change and to bring out the beast again! I haven’t had many issues with character changes in the past (ie: my paladin, who has a bit of a personality disorder…*cough*) but it’s hard for me to decide because Ninevi is the first character I ever created! I do very much like the Worgen druid forms, and I don’t really understand the abhorrent “female chihuahua” remarks that some claim (since my Alliance main is also Worgen)…

So, what do you all think? Have you ever had experience in deciding whether or not to change something about one of your main characters? Maybe help me decide? :D

16 responses to “To Worgen or Not to Worgen?

  1. kamaliaetalia 07/18/2012 at 5:11 pm

    Makani? I remember that name from the HP fandom. Isn’t she the one who was a total Malfoy family fangirl?
    /brb, reading through her tumblr
    Yes, yes, she was. Is.
    And dang, she does awesome WoW art, too. I loved the one of the T11 dragons as people.

    But back to your question…
    I have changed the race of some of my alts — generally in combination with a faction change — but I would have a very hard time changing the race of my very first character. I would rather level a completely new character. If you feel like your budget can afford two race changes, perhaps you should go ahead and transform Ninevi into a Worgen and see if that does, in fact, allow you to reconnect with her. If it works out, great! And if not, well, then you can change her back.

    • Classy 07/18/2012 at 6:23 pm

      I agree with what Kamalia says about the funds. If you’ve got it — don’t be afraid to experiment. My priest was originally a Night elf and I went Draenei…LOVE her now.

      • Ninevi 07/19/2012 at 8:52 am

        Thanks for your suggestion, Classy!

        Think I will definitely give it a try then, but hopefully my druid will feel more at home as Worgen and not keep changing her mind! :P

    • Ninevi 07/19/2012 at 8:48 am

      Yes, her HP stuff is over at http://acciobrain.ligermagic.com! I loved that T11 bosses art too, as well as the funny Alexstrasza comic.

      Thanks for your input, Kamalia! It’s a very good idea. I think I am definitely going to give it a try and see if she finds a Worgen personality more fitting. If not, then I can always change her back. Hopefully she won’t be too confused about all the changing…! :)

  2. Cymre 07/19/2012 at 7:15 am

    I’ve done a few races changes but not faction. Although my trial priest toon was originally a human (before BC came out) but I love my BE and couldn’t imagine being anything else. But if you want/need a change then do it, esp. if you have the funds to spare :)

    • Ninevi 07/19/2012 at 8:55 am

      Oh wow! I can hardly imagine Cym as a human! I was surprised to read your post when you guys changed to Tauren…glad that you changed back, hehe.

      I guess we’ll give the change a go and see if it “feels right” for my druid. I sure hope so! :)

  3. Navimie 07/19/2012 at 9:38 am

    I chose Horde in the poll, but in reality, I think you might like being a worgen! Besides, the animal in her will make her seem more like my alterego twin! Can’t be my alter ego twin if you’re not alliance :D

    • Ninevi 07/19/2012 at 10:04 pm

      Aww, yeah — twinsies! :D I hope Ninevi will like being a Worgen, too. Will probably try it out this weekend and I guess we’ll see!

  4. tomeoftheancient 07/19/2012 at 9:44 am

    I changed my Dwarf Pally to Horde and then found out what I’d liked about her were her braids, lol. Probably going to have to change her back!

    I liked the Worgens I had except for the sniffing, aside from that I really like the Worgen form.

    • Ninevi 07/19/2012 at 10:06 pm

      Oh yes, the Dwarven ladies have some of the best hair!! I wish there were more hair options (I could play with all the options for days!!), but one can only wish… :P

  5. Erinys 07/19/2012 at 11:27 am

    I picked Night Elf because as much as I want to love my Worgen, every time I see them in profile my heart sinks :(

    • Ninevi 07/19/2012 at 10:16 pm

      Aww :( I know what you mean. I like my Worgen rogue a lot and like how she appears on the Armory, but sometimes the model can sure be a little hideous in-game. I might have some fun shifting into Human form as a druid every now and then, though!

  6. Sionel 07/21/2012 at 9:37 am

    Never commented here before, so…hi :) Cat druid-ness is fun! Highly recommended, as long as you love to include ‘chase the tank’ in your rotation *cough* I love the worgen forms too, though my kitty is sticking with her necklace. Too set in her ways to change now…

    • Ninevi 07/21/2012 at 11:28 am

      Hi! :D

      I hope cat druid-ing will be fun in Mists, too — although, it seems like people are saying the devs enjoy revamping the spec every expansion! I guess we’ll see… :)

  7. JD Kenada 07/23/2012 at 8:46 am

    I threw my support behind Night Elf. Honestly, it’s only because I think you’ll spend most of your time transformed come Mists thanks to all the new Glyphs that are coming (not to mention just the changes to the class to begin with). At the very least, wait and see. The worst that happens is you follow through on it anyway.

    As for the female Worgen model…I was one of those chihuahua people. At times, I still am. But I also take great pride in knowing I’ve shown a few people the female Worgens can still look good.

  8. Pingback: July Challenge: Something About Me – Becoming a Teacher & More « Flask Half-Empty

Leave a comment

