Flask Half-Empty

ramblings about warcraft, other games, & randomness

Representing Silverwing in the Transmogolympics

For Silverwing!

As many of you already know, the 2012 Transmogolympics are well on their way, hosted by JD Kenada and judged by himself, Tome, Matty, and Khizzara. There are currently 75 confirmed participants — whoa, that’s a lot!! (And there very well may be even more after I’ve written this post.) When I first signed up, I wasn’t quite sure what I’d gotten myself into. I’m still quite a newbie to transmogrification and costumes, and it’s a little intimidating to see many fellow competitors that are quite well known for their transmog posts and outfits! But I figured, what better contest to practice in, right??

After all, there are nine “medal categories” and one flagbearer (tabard/sigil representation of each faction): Archery, Cycling, Discus, Equestrian, Fencing, Javelin, Hammer Throw, Wrestling, & Freestyle. For more detailed information on each category, see the rules & criteria here, as well as some clarifications.

It’s a bit of a daunting task, when I first looked at it! Nine outfits, and each has to be on a separate race/gender combination (no repetitions). After I signed up, the first thing I did was make a schedule for when to make which outfits by (don’t judge) because I knew if I did otherwise, I might not make the deadline of July 31st. As of tonight, I’ve got archery and cycling down…seven more to go! I’ve got a pretty fun idea brewed up for the freestyle, but we’ll see how hard it is for me to actually execute. It’s been pretty fun so far, but as I don’t have access to WoW Model Viewer (the Mac release is super outdated), I’m stuck with just fiddling with MogIt and the viewer on Wowhead for now!

Silverwing Grove in Ashenvale

About the Silverwing Sentinels

Being randomly assigned to represent the Silverwing Sentinels is a little bittersweet for me. I’m at a point where I’ve been seriously debating with myself on race changing my druid because she no longer really feels at home with her Night Elf roots. Exploring Silverwing Grove and doing a bit of research on the Silverwing Sentinels sure made Ninevi a bit wistful! Regardless, I’m proud to represent Silverwing, as I do love me some WSG action and hope to do the Alliance proud!

For those who may not know, the Silverwing Sentinels are the Alliance faction for the Warsong Gulch battleground. They comprise of Night Elves attempting to reclaim Ashenvale from an Orcish clan named the Warsong Outriders (the Horde WSG faction), who have been logging the forests and established a huge logging outpost in Warsong Gulch.

A related flag/sigil…?

While browsing for ideas for the flagbearer, I decided I wanted to base my Silverwing outfit on General Lylandris, one of the Warsong Gulch battlemasters who appears in Ironforge during the WSG holiday. Sadly, I wasn’t able to find any weapon models like the large throwing blades the Sentinels use, so I wanted to focus on the purple, gold, and silver of the tabard (see first picture, above!) I’m pretty happy with it for now, and I’m tempted to farm it on my paladin, despite her being a Blood Elf and having nobody to run Heroic BWD with for the shoulders. *pokes Chimaeron with a stick and runs away*

With that, I wish good luck to all fellow competitors! Can’t wait to see all the entries/winners when they are all submitted at the end of the month! And as for those of you who haven’t signed up yet, there’s still plenty of time and no deadline for signing up. Come join the fun! :)

10 responses to “Representing Silverwing in the Transmogolympics

  1. Cymre 07/10/2012 at 10:54 am

    Wow, is it that many now? I’m glad I’m not judging :P
    Nice job on the outfit. I’ve never noticed the Silverwing tabard before.

    • Ninevi 07/10/2012 at 9:16 pm

      Yeah, it’s pretty awesome to have so many people participating. I’m glad I’m not judging too…hopefully they’ll be able to show us all the entries in a gallery of some sort!

  2. Erinys 07/11/2012 at 8:53 am

    Those shoulders match the tabard perfectly.

    Have to say I’m also glad I’m not judging, the logistics of it is going to be a nightmare.

  3. tomeoftheancient 07/11/2012 at 1:17 pm

    Wow, I’m glad I’m not judg … er … OMG I am!

    • Ninevi 07/11/2012 at 6:52 pm

      Oh, man! I salute all of you judging for the daunting job of evaluating all the incoming submissions… It’ll be interesting for sure!

  4. Navimie 07/12/2012 at 1:18 am

    /salutes Sentinel Ninevi
    Good luck! Won’t it be exciting to see all of our outfits? :D

    • Ninevi 07/12/2012 at 6:59 pm

      Thanks Navi, good luck to you also!

      I can’t wait to see all of the entries. It’ll definitely be like our own little Olympics! :D

  5. Pingback: Silverwing in the Mogolympics Pt.1 « Flask Half-Empty

  6. zyzz 08/07/2013 at 6:45 am

    One of the more common ones is that a body builder’s muscle mass interferes with basic daily tasks like brush one’s teeth.
    Choose Supplements Wisely – When it comes to supplementing
    your diet you need to make sure that you choose the right supplements
    for gaining weight. He’s a man that knows muscle and has some great advice on how to build a body to be reckoned with.

Leave a comment

